2022 Men’s Physique Olympia Pre-Judging Report

The biggest Men's Physique field in history faced the judges.

The 2022 Olympia weekend continued with pre-judging on the morning of Saturday, Dec. 17, 2022. The Men’s Physique division saw a staggering 68 competitors take the stage for the eyes of the judges — it was the most populated of all 11 divisions contested at the 2022 Olympia.

Entering the contest, the drama surrounded reigning three-time Men’s Physique champion Brandon Hendrickson, who was seeking a fourth title to tie Jeremy Buendia for the most all-time.

[Related: 2022 Mr. Olympia Results — Live Updates & Coverage]

Check out the recap of the pre-judging below.

Men’s Physique Pre-Judging Recap

The athletes took turns in number comparisons and individual introductions before it was time to get down to business. Diogo Montenegro had his fans behind him, but so did Erin Banks. As the champion, Hendrickson made his appearance last.

The expediters had to make three lines of competitors on both sides of the stage to organize the dozens of athletes for the comparisons. Head judge Steve Weinberger then had to get through seemingly endless callouts to get through this hefty lineup. The callouts are below.

Callout 1

  • Ali Bilal
  • Corey Morris 
  • Diogo Montenegro
  • Erin Banks
  • Brandon Hendrickson
  • Charjo Grant
  • Kyron Holden
  • Ryan Terry

Callout 2 

  • Carlos DeOliveira
  • Vitor Chaves
  • Emanual Hunter
  • Andre Ferguson 
  • Edvan Palmeira 
  • Jahvair Mullings
  • Alexander Toplyn
  • Vincius Mateus Viera Lima

Callout 3

  • JuXian He 
  • Joven Sagabain
  • Shun Kaneko
  • Nick Koeu
  • George Brown 
  • Abisai Pietersz 
  • Tunahan Guler
  • Arya Saffaie 
  • Yukihiro Yuasa

Callout 4

  • Jeffrey Darko 
  • Furkan Er
  • Myron Griffin
  • Alessandro Cavagnola 
  • Balint Nemeth 
  • Benquil Marigny 
  • Antoine Weatherspoon
  • Steven Cao

Callout 5

  • Jason Huynh 
  • Mehdi Kabbadj 
  • Hossein Karimi
  • Winston Sullivan
  • Bhuwan Chauhan
  • Burak King
  • Montae Bailey

Callout 6

  • Reuben Glass
  • Riccardo Croci 
  • Bongsuk Choi
  • Clarence McSpadden
  • Ahmed Shokry 
  • Zheyu Zhang 
  • Fabrizio Dos Santos Silva
  • Youcef Djoudi

Callout 7 

  • Rodrigue Chesnier 
  • Emile Walker
  • Sotirios Gkatsis 
  • Junho Lee
  • Davide Mazzolari
  • Ponpaisan Ruangsangpen
  • Chevy Phillips
  • Mahmood Al Maghrabi

Callout 8

  • Je Endrina 
  • Adeyemi Awoyemi
  • Jonas Jamena
  • Terrence Teo Kok Hua 
  • Yousef Al Shaban
  • Long Wu

Callout 9

  • Andre Ferguson
  • Kyron Holden 
  • Edvan Palmeira 
  • Ryan Terry 
  • Corey Morris 
  • Ali Bilal

Callout 10

  • Charjo Grant 
  • Diogo Montenegro

Callout 11

  • Erin Banks 
  • Brandon Hendrickson

It took 10 callouts to get to the favorites, but those favorites are Banks and Hendrickson with Charjo Grant and Montenegro fighting for third place

The 2022 Olympia Schedule

Below is the schedule for the rest of the 2022 Olympia weekend. The divisions are listed in the same order as they appear on the schedule of mrolympia.com/weekend-schedule.

The start times for each division’s pre-judging and finals have not been announced. The morning and evening sessions on Dec. 17 begin at 9:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m., respectively.

Saturday, Dec. 17, 2022

9:00 a.m. — Pre-Judging

7:00 p.m. — Finals

BarBend is producing live coverage of the pre-judging and finals for each division.

Featured image: @w_wittmannphoto on Instagram