Chris Bumstead Wins 2022 Classic Physique Olympia, His Fourth Consecutive Title

Bumstead is in a league of his own.

After pre-judging at the 2022 Classic Physique Olympia opening round on Dec. 17, 2022, three-time champion Chris Bumstead and Ramon Rocha Queiroz were the last men standing facing head judge Steve Weinberger and the rest of the judging panel. Many fans still expected “CBum” to win, but “Dino” had his legion of supporters ready for a title change. 

Both of those men and the rest of the top 10 contenders faced off at the Zappos Theater that same day to find out who would be the 2022 champion of Classic Physique. And, as many expected, Chris Bumstead came away with his fourth title. Here is how the contest broke down:

2022 Classic Physique Olympia Results

  1. Chris Bumstead — $50,000
  2. Ramon Rocha Queiroz — $20,000
  3. Urs Kalecinski — $10,000
  4. Breon Ansley — $6,000
  5. Mike Sommerfeld — $4,000

[Related: 2022 Mr. Olympia Results — Live Updates & Coverage]

[Related: Harold Kelley Wins 2022 Wheelchair Olympia, Scores His Fifth Consecutive Title]

2022 Classic Physique Olympia Recap

The callouts for the Classic Physique final narrowed the field down to the top 10. The bottom four of the top 10 were in the first callout. 

Callout 1

  • Michael Daboul
  • Fabian Mayr
  • Wesley Vissers
  • Alex Cambronero

Callout 2

  • Breon Ansley
  • Urs Kalecinski
  • Ramon Rocha Queiroz
  • Terrence Ruffin
  • Mike Sommerfeld
  • Chris Bumstead

Bumstead and Rocha Queiroz were in the center of the final callout. The top five performed individual routines, and that group is listed below in numerical order:

  • Breon Ansley
  • Urs Kalecinski
  • Ramon Rocha Queiroz
  • Mike Sommerfeld
  • Chris Bumstead

At the end of the posing routines, they moved right into the award ceremony, and it was all but clear that the battle was between Rocha Queiroz and Bumstead of the title. Phil Heath was convinced that Bumstead would retain the title, and moments later, he was proven correct. Bumstead won his fourth consecutive title.

[Read: The Best Supplements For Muscle Growth For Protein, BCAAs, and More]

[Related: Missy Truscott Triumphant at the 2022 Fitness Olympia]

Bumstead’s Legacy

In a seven-year-old division, Bumstead is officially the majority stakeholder for Classic Physique Olympia wins. This marks CBum’s fourth-straight victory dating back to 2019. Prior to the Canadian, there were only two other division winners — Danny Hester in 2016 and then Breon Ansley in 2017-2018. 

Bumstead’s pro career kicked off in 2016 and it’s been essentially nothing but podium for the now-27-year-old. In 2016, he placed first at the IFBB North American Championships as a Men’s Heavyweight bodybuilder. He transitioned to Classic Physique for his next pro show and placed third. 

In 2017, he swept up at the Toronto Pro and Pittsburgh Pro, eventually earning second at that year’s Olympia. He’d take second to Breon once more at the 2018 Olympia (his only contest that year), and then began his reign as king of Classic Physique.

With 12.5 million Instagram follower and 2.6 million YouTube subscribers, Bumstead remains the most popular personality in physique sports, generating traffic (and sometimes memes) in the health and fitness space. 

The 2022 Olympia Schedule

Below is the schedule for the rest of the 2022 Olympia weekend. The divisions below are listed in the same order as they appear on the schedule of

The start times for each division’s pre-judging and finals have not been announced. The morning and evening sessions on Dec. 17, 2022, beginning at 9:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m., respectively.

Saturday, Dec. 17, 2022

7:00 p.m. — Finals

BarBend is producing live coverage of the pre-judging and finals for each division.

Featured Image: Chris Bernacchi