2021 Bikini Olympia Pre-Judging Report

With 2020 Bikini Olympia champ out of the mix, the title is anyone's game, and all the women brought the heat.

This Bikini Olympia title is technically vacant due to 2020 winner Janet Layug‘s announcement that she wouldn’t compete in 2021. The favorite going into pre-judging was Bikini International winner Jennifer Dorie. Other top contenders include Lauralie Chapados and former Olympia Champion Ashley Kaltwasser.

In total, 35 athletes graced the stage with hopes of advancing to the Finals on Saturday night. Fans in Orlando, FL were crossing the aisles in the Expo behind the audience to get a glimpse of these ladies being compared.

Bikini Olympia Pre-Judging

Fans were filling the aisles in the Expo behind the audience to get a glimpse of these ladies being compared. Chapados, Dorie, Kaltwasser, and Pecini were all greeted with loud receptions. Those three women were all in the first callout as well.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀W Wittmann (@w_wittmannphoto)

Dorie, Chapados, and Kaltwasser would eventually be sent back in line, signifying that they are the three to beat. This was confirmed when they closed out prejudging as well — all three took a turn in the center of the final group.

Callout 1

  • Jennifer Ronzitti, #30
  • Daraja Hill, #17
  • Elisa Pecini, #28
  • Jennifer Dorie, #10
  • Lauralie Chapados, #6
  • Ashley Kaltwasser, #19
  • Maureen Blanquisco, #4
  • Romina Basualdo, #3

Callout 2

  • Jourdanne Lee, #20
  • Allison Testu, #34
  • Lucia Malavaze, #24
  • Lauren Dannenmiller, #9
  • Jessica Wilson, #35
  • Alessia Facchin, #11

Callout 3

  • Ariel Barley, #2
  • Vania Auguste, #1
  • Ashlyn, Little, #22
  • Erin Stern, #31
  • Chen Qi Liu, #23
  • Jimi Marley, #25
  • Francesca Stoico, #32

Callout 4

  • Romania Basualdo, #3
  • Sara Choi, #7
  • Gabrielle Messias, #26
  • Eli Fernandez, #12
  • Ivanna Escandar Fernandez, #13
  • Jasmine Gonzalez, #14

Callout 5

  • Kristina Blanquisco, #5
  • Adrianna Kaczmarek, #18
  • Reijuana Harley, #16
  • Maria Julia Lemos, #21
  • Emily Plajer, #29
  • Stine Hansen, #15
  • Ji Bin Park, #27
  • Lauren Dannenmiller, #9

Callout 6

  • Jennifer Ronzitti, #30
  • Lauren Dannenmiller, #9
  • Romania Basualdo, #3
  • Lucia Malavaze, #24

Callout 7

  • Elisa Pecini, #28
  • Maureen Blanquisco, #4
  • Daraja Hill, #17

Callout 8

  • Lauralie Chapados, #6
  • Jennifer Dorie, #10
  • Ashley Kaltwasser, #19

[Related: Arnold Schwarzenegger Wants Classic Physique to Be as Big as Open Bodybuilding]

2021 Olympia — Friday Results

The Olympia saw returning champions in two of three Women’s Divisions on Friday score successful title defenses. Cydney Gillon claimed her fifth consecutive Figure Olympia title and Ms. Olympia champion Andrea Shaw went back-to-back. Whitney Jones took back the crown in the Fitness Olympia division — the third of her career.

The case was different for the one Men’s Division that took place on Friday. Derek Lunsford dethroned Shaun Clarida in the 212 Division. Here are the results thus far:

Mr. Olympia prejudging seemed to immediately narrow down to a final two — 2020 Mr. Olympia Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay and 2019 Mr. Olympia Brandon Curry. There were some impressive physiques that stood out in the rest of the field though, specifically Nick Walker and Hadi Choopan, so the Finals on Saturday evening will be worth the watch.


What is the Bikini Division?

One of the more popular divisions inf the IFBB Pro League, Bikini debuted in 2010. Compared to the other women’s divisions (Women’s Physique, Women’s Bodybuilding, Figure, Fitness, and Wellness), Bikini competitors have the least amount of muscle mass. The focus is on conditioning as wells as muscle in the glutes and thighs.

How is Bikini judged compared to the other divisions?

The women perform what’s known as a “model walk, where they walk to center stage, show off their front and back and then exit the stage.

Then, the competitors are compared in a series of callouts, like all the other divisions. They wear two-piece bikinis and transparent high heels.

They are judged on balance and shape as well as their overall physical appearance — complexion, skin tone, poise, and their overall presentation.

Who is the current Bikini Olympia champion?

That would be Janet Layug, but she announced that she wasn’t competing at the 2021 Olympia. Technically, the title is vacant. Here are all of the Bikini Olympia winners of year’s past:

  • 2010: Sonia Gonzalez
  • 2011: Nicole Nagrani
  • 2012: Nathalia Melo
  • 2013-2015: Ashley Kaltwasser
  • 2016: Courtney King
  • 2017-2018: Angelica Teixeira
  • 2019: Elisa Pecini
  • 2020: Janet Layug

2021 Olympia Schedule

Olympia Weekend runs from Oct. 7-10, with the pro competitions taking place on the eighth and ninth. The Mr. Olympia finals will wrap on Saturday. Here’s the complete competition schedule:

  • Friday, Sept. 8, 9:00 a.m. EST: Morning Pre-judging (Fitness, 212, Figure, Women’s Physique, Ms. O, Wellness)
  • Friday, Sept. 8, 7:00 p.m. EST: Evening Finals (212, Fitness, Figure, Women’s Physique, Ms. O, Mr. O Pre-juding)
  • Saturday, Sept. 9, 9:00 a.m. EST: Morning Pre-judging (Classic Physique, Men’s Physique, Bikini, Wellness Finals, Wheelchair Finals)
  • Saturday, Sept. 9, 7:00 p.m. EST: Evening Finals (Mr. Olympia, Men’s Physique, Bikini, Classic Physique)

Featured Image: Will Wittmann (@w_wittmann on Instagram)