Brandon Curry Wins 2019 Mr. Olympia Bodybuilding Title

Curry is the 15th champion in the event’s 55 year history.

Brandon Curry made bodybuilding history this past weekend in Las Vegas by being the last man standing on the Olympia stage and becoming the 15th man to earn the title of Mr. Olympia. He also joins Ronnie Coleman (2001) and Dexter Jackson (2008) as the 3rd man to win the Arnold Classic and Mr. Olympia in the same season.

No one at the Olympia were at their all-time best, but Curry presented a physique that the judges felt was the best at both prejudging on Friday night and the finals on Saturday night. William Bonac would come in 2nd and Hadi Choopan of Iran would take the bronze position. Choopan was also voted by the fans as the “People’s Champion”. 

Jackson would finish this year in 4th followed by Roelly Winklaar in 5th. It was later reported that Winklaar suffered a hamstring injury while preparing for the competition but decided to move forward and compete.

New 212 Champion and Other Men’s Results

The 212 Olympia title was also vacant this year, and that position is now held by Kamal Elgargni, who pulled the upset of early favorite Derek Lunsford. Lunsford would finish 2nd. Shaun Clarida, at 169 pounds, takes 3rd. John Jewett and Ahmad Ashkanani rounded out the Top 5.

The Classic Physique division saw a switch of the Top 2 from the previous two seasons. Chris Bumstead, after three attempts, finally beats Breon Ansley to win the Classic Physique championship. George Peterson would finish in 3rd place.

The Men’s Physique Division saw a new champion crowned as well. Raymont Edmunds takes the title this year over former champion Brandon Hendrickson who finished this year in 4th. Andre Ferguson was in second and Kyron Holden took 3rd place.

The only man to hold his title was Harold Kelly in the Wheelchair division. He remains that division’s only champion.

Women’s Results

There was one change in the women’s title holders. Elisa Pecini shocked the field and left Las Vegas as the new Bikini division champion. Janet Layug was the runner-up and previous champion Angelica Teixeira would be placed 3rd.

The other female champions, Cydney Gillon in Figure, Shanique Grant in Women’s Physique, and Whitney Jones in Fitness, all retained their titles. Gillon is now a three-time champion while the other two are now in their second years at the top of their divisions.

Featured Image: Instagram/mrolympiallc