Sara Sigmundsdottir and Bronislaw Olenkowicz Win Fifth CrossFit Sanctional

Sara Sigmundsdottir and Bronislaw Olenkowicz win Strength In Depth CrossFit Sanctional.

Over the weekend, the fifth CrossFit Sanctional event Strength In Depth took place in London, United Kingdom. This event brought out a ton of big named athletes and some familiar faces found themselves at the top of the leaderboard. Similar to the previous CrossFit Sanctional events, the top male, female, and team in the elite divisions have earned an invite to the 2019 CrossFit Games.

For the elite women athletes, 4-time CrossFit Games athlete Sara Sigmundsdottir put on a commanding performance. In fact, Sigmundsottir finished in either first or second place in every single event at Strength In Depth, and earned an incredible 682 points (out of 700).

On the men’s side of the competition, Polish CrossFit Athlete Bronislaw Olenkowicz edged out second place Drew Wayman and third place David Shorunke by a mere six points. The men’s competition was neck-and-neck the whole weekend and the top four finishers only had a spread of 12 points separating them.

Shifting gears to the teams, the Central Beasts team consisting of Zach Sowder, Emma Chapman, Nicole Holcomb, and Joseph Tortora absolutely dominated the competition. The Central Beasts took home first in every single event, except for one, which earned them an impressive 658 points.

A few days before the Strength In Depth Competition kicked off, the 2019 CrossFit Open also kicked off. It will interesting to see how the athletes who competed in Strength In Depth score in Open Workout 19.1. If you missed Open Workout 19.1’s announcement, or need some tips for crushing the workout, then check out the links below.

CrossFit Santctional Qualifiers

As of right now, there are ten athletes who have qualified for the 2019 CrossFit Games through CrossFit Sanctional events. If you’re just catching up, then check out the previous Sanctional winners below!

Individual Women Sanctional Winners

  • Dubai CrossFit Championship — Sam Briggs
  • Wodapalooza — Tia-Clair Toomey
  • Australian CrossFit Championship — Maddie Sturt
  • CrossFit Fittest In Capetown — Katrin Davidsdottir

Individual Men Sanctional Winners

  • Dubai CrossFit Championship — Mat Fraser
  • Wodapalooza — Patrick Vellner
  • Australian CrossFit Championship — James Newbury
  • CrossFit Fittest In Capetown — Sean Sweeney

Feature image from @strengthindepthuk Instagram page, photo by @frozenintimefr