Sara Sigmundsdottir and Brent Fikowski Win 2019 Dubai CrossFit Championship

CrossFit Games Veterans Sigmundsdottir and Fikowski win, with Games invites extending further down the leaderboard.

After four days of competition and 11 events for Individuals and Teams, the 2019 Dubai CrossFit Championship has determined its winners. Sara Sigmundsdottir and Brent Fikowski walked away with the titles for the women and men, respectively, while MisFit M10 Performance won the Team division.

The competition ran from December 11th through the 14th at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium. Final podium listings for the Women, Men, and Teams are below.


1. Sara Sigmundsdottir (Iceland)
2. Karin Frey (Slovakia)
3. Samantha Briggs (Great Britain)


1. Brent Fikowski (Canada)
2. Pat Vellner (Canada)
3. Roman Khrennikov (Russia)


1. MisFit M10 Performance
2. We Got Cake
3. Team Prepared

Tentative Qualifiers

It’s worth noting that though the podiums are now determined, invites to the 2020 CrossFit Games are still pending official results of the 2020 CrossFit Open. 

On the women’s side, Sigmundsdottir and Frey are tentatively already qualified for the 2020 Reebok CrossFit Games after their CrossFit Open performances (finishing Top 20 in the world and/or the top spot in their respective countries). That means the invite will likely go to multi-time Games veteran (and 2013 Champion) Samantha Briggs of the UK. Briggs is no stranger to strong performances at this competition and was the defending Dubai CrossFit Championship winner from 2018.

[Want to learn more about Games qualification? Check out the full 2020 Sanctionals Schedule.]

On the men’s side, things get a little more complicated. Morning Chalk Up provided some very in-depth analysis based on current Open standings (which, again, are not yet official). Tola Morakinyo of CrossFit Invictus Back Bay finished in 9th place. Assuming a series of high-ranking Open athletes decide to compete on Teams as many predict, the eight men ahead of Morakinyo will receive Games invites through the Open. That means a 9th place finish is likely good enough to give Morakinyo a ticket to Madison. 

Team Competitors

The winning team — MisFit M10 Performance — consisted of Traylor Williamson, Travis Williams, Roy Gamboa, and Andrea Nisler, all of the United States. Runners-up We Got Cake was comprised of Dani Speegle, Alec Smith, Jessica Griffith, and Cody Mooney, all of the United States as well.

With the win, MisFit M10 Performance secures their Team invite to the 2020 Reebok CrossFit Games.

Featured image: @dbxfitnesschamp on Instagram