Terrence Ruffin Wins Classic Physique at the 2022 Arnold Classic

Ruffin bags $60,000 and becomes the first man to win two Arnold Classic titles in the Classic Physique division.

Terrence Ruffin is your 2022 Arnold Classic Classic Physique champion. This is Ruffin’s second Arnold Classic title; he is the first Classic Physique competitor to defend his title at this show. Roman Rocha Queiroz placed second and Urs Kalecinkski came in third place. 

This is the division’s fifth year at the 34-year-old contest. Winners of the Arnold Classic earn a qualification to the Olympia (held from Dec. 16-18 in Las Vegas in 2022) and are considered top contenders at the O.

Related: 2022 Arnold Classic Friday Night Finals — Fitness, Figure & Classic Physique


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀W Wittmann (@w_wittmannphoto)

Ruffin turned pro in 2014 and has competed in more than 10 pro shows since 2016. He’s racked up big wins — including the Tampa Pro in 2016, the 2018 Toronto Pro, and the 2021 and 2022 Arnold Classic (all in Classic Physique. Ruffin has also competed at the prestigious Mr. Olympia five times, taking second to three-time champ Chris Bumstead in 2020 and 2021. 

Here is the top five in Classic Physique at the 2022 Arnold Classic: 

2022 AC Classic Physique Results

  1. Terrence Ruffin, $60,000*
  2. Roman Rocha Queiroz, $30,000
  3. Urs Kalecinski, $20,000
  4. Breon Ansley, $7,000
  5. Michael Daboul, $4,000
  6. Peter Molnar, $2,000
  7. Divine Wilson
  8. Darwin Uribe 
  9. Lenny Wicks

*Ruffin also won $10,000 as the Best Poser. 

About Classic Physique

Classic Physique is one of the newer divisions in the sport of bodybuilding, debuting in 2016, and yet it’s become one of the more popular among fans. 

The most notable difference between the Classic Physique and Men’s Open division is that there’s a weight limit based on height for Classic. The bodies in Classic are meant to resemble those seen in bodybuilding’s Golden Era (1965-1980). 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀W Wittmann (@w_wittmannphoto)

Judges prize mass a bit less compared to Men’s Open and 212, and place a higher priority on muscular symmetry, conditioning, and presentation/posing

Past AC Classic Physique Champs

In its short history at the Arnold Classic, the division has seen four champions. Here they are:

  • 2018: Breon Ansley
  • 2019: George Peterson
  • 2020: Alex Cambronero
  • 2021: Terrence Ruffin

How to Watch the Arnold Classic

If you’re looking to tune into any major event at the 2022 Arnold Classic, head over to Fanmio to buy the pay-per-view. It costs $24.99 ($34.99 as of March 4), and grants viewers access to different “stages” of the Arnold Sports Festival.

Featured Image: @w_wittmannphoto on Instagram