The International Weightlifting Federation has officially opened up their voting process for the World Weightlifting’s Best Lifter of the Year 2016, and you, fellow fan of weightlifting, are eligible to vote. All you need to do is have a valid e-mail address and to cast your vote by the end of January 2017.

There are six candidates of each sex who have been nominated for the award. If you’re interested in voting, you need to pick one male and one female from the following list.

The Ladies

Deng Wei, China

Xiang Yanmei, China

Hsu Shu-Ching, Taipei

Rim Jong Sim, People’s Republic of Korea

Sukanya Srisurat, Thailand

Sopita Tanasan, Thailand

The Gentlemen

Oscar Albeiro Figueroa Mosquera, Colombia

Long Qingquan, China

Ruslan Nurudinov, Uzbekistan

Nijat Rahimov, Kazakhstan

Kianoush Rostami, Iran

Lasha Talakhadze, Georgia

The IWF hasn’t disclosed the exact criteria by which they selected these lifters as the top twelve of 2016, but many broke world records at the Rio Olympics and have loyal followings in their home countries.

The actual awards that will be given to the two winners are called Jenő Boskovics Lifter of the Year Trophies for 2016. Boskovics was a Hungarian weightlifting journalist who served as the Press Chief and Spokesman of the International Weightlifting Federation for several decades and was the Editor-In-Chief of World Weightlifting Magazine from its founding in 1980 until Boskovics’ death in 2010.

Head on over to the IWF’s voting page right here to make your voice heard, just remember to do so before the end of January.

What do you think – did the IWF left anyone off the list who would be more deserving?

Update, 2/7/2017: The two winners of the award have been announced. Read our coverage here.

Featured image via @iwfnet on Instagram.


Previous articleVideo Shows Lu Xiaojun’s Return to Training and Future Aspirations
Next articleWatch KC Mitchell, the First Amputee to Complete a Full USPA Powerlifting Meet
Nick is a content producer and journalist with over seven years’ experience reporting on four continents. His first articles about health were on a cholera outbreak in rural Kenya while he was reporting for a French humanitarian organization. His next writing job was covering the nightlife scene in Shanghai. He’s written on a lot of things.After Shanghai, he went on to produce a radio documentary about bodybuilding in Australia before finishing his Master’s degrees in Journalism and International Relations and heading to New York City. Here, he’s been writing on health full time for more than five years for outlets like BarBend, Men's Health, VICE, and Popular Science.No fan of writing in the third person, Nick’s passion for health stems from an interest in self improvement: How do we reach our potential?Questions like these took him through a lot of different areas of health and fitness like gymnastics, vegetarianism, kettlebell training, fasting, CrossFit, Paleo, and so on, until he realized (or decided) that strength training fit best with the ideas of continuous, measurable self improvement.At BarBend his writing focuses a little more on nutrition and long-form content with a heaping dose of strength training. His underlying belief is in the middle path: you don’t have to count every calorie and complete every workout in order to benefit from a healthy lifestyle and a stronger body. Plus, big traps are cool.