World’s Ultimate Strongman Announces 2021 Qualified Athletes

These athletes will compete for next year’s WUS title.

While the world at large has been dealing with the effects surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, World’s Ultimate Strongman (WUS) stepped up and offered opportunities for athletes to showcase their abilities as part of their “Feats of Strength” series. The two seasons entertained fans and gave athletes purpose for training.

The ultimate goal for strongman, as well as all sports, is to return to full competitions, and now WUS is looking ahead to their next season. On October 27th, WUS announced the 24 men that were currently eligible to compete in the 2021 World’s Ultimate Strongman Championship contest.

Details and dates for their events have yet to be announced officially, but WUS has said that information would be forthcoming soon.

The full list of athletes currently qualified are included in the images on the Instagram post below.

Mateusz Kieliszkowski
Bobby Thompson
Luke Stoltman
Aivars Smaukstelis
Tom Stoltman
Eythor Ingolfsson
Brian Shaw
Mohammed Ezatpour
JF Caron
Jerry Pritchett
Rauno Heinla
Terry Hollands
Oleksii Novikov
Konstantine Janashia
Mikhail Shivlyakov
Iron Biby
Ramin Farajnezhad
Matjaz Belsak
Ervin Toots
Rob Kearney
Luke Richardson
Martins Licis
Adam Bishop
Krzysztof Radzikowski

Athletes that are in this lineup were determined by their placings in the contests on this list.

Top 15 from 2019 WUS contest
Top 10 from 2020 Arnold Strongman Classic
Top 3 from Europe’s Strongest Man
Top 3 from 2019 World’s Strongest Man
Previous Official Strongman Games Winner
Strongman Champions League Overall Champion
Middle East Strongest Man Winner
GCC Strongest Man Winner

There were no alternatives or substitutes if an athlete took a qualification in more than one way. An
example of this would be Mateusz Kieliszkowski. He was the 2019 WUS Champion and placed 2nd at the 2020 Arnold Strongman Classic. Even though he qualified two ways, no other athlete was given a position to make up for it.

WUS has stated that this year’s World’s Strongest Man competition could impact how the lineup looks. If anyone who has yet to qualify places in the Top 3 of the WSM contest, he will be offered a spot in this lineup as well. After that contest, the qualification list will be finalized and closed.

WUS has been hosting these competitions since 2018. Their first champion was Hafthor Bjornsson. He would be eligible to compete in this show as well, but he retired after winning the 2020 Iceland’s Strongest Man contest.

Kieliszkowski won last year, and would be considered a favorite to win again in the next contest. Of course, this year’s contest won’t happen due to the pandemic.

Aside from Kieliszkowski, the biggest names that stand out in this lineup are 2019 World’s Strongest Man Martins Licis, 4-time WSM Champion Brian Shaw, and Luke and Tom Stoltman.

Rob Kearney is qualified as well, but he will likely not compete unless the contest takes place after he recovers from his triceps injury he suffered in a recent Feats of Strength episode.

Featured Image: Instagram/worldsultimatestrongman