Jeffrey Adler Cleans His Way to Victory in Event Six of the 2021 CrossFit Games

Adler posts his first event win of the 2021 CrossFit Games; Toomey-Orr scores her fourth..

Individual Event Five for the 2021 CrossFit Games saw Patrick Vellner and Laura Horvath score 100 points in the men’s and women’s divisions, respectively. Heading into Event Six, Tia-Clair Toomey-Orr stood atop the women’s leaderboard and 482 points — 48 more than Haley Adams. Brent Fikowski was on top of the men’s leaderboard with Justin Medeiros just 15 points behind him.

The movements for Event Six were not revealed until an hour before it began. It involved a combination of 200-meter runs with increasingly heavier cleans. Jeffrey Adler was able to best the men’s field with a fast turnaround on heavy cleans. Toomey-Orr showed her prowess with a barbell and scored her fourth event win of the Games.

Here were the results:

Individual Event Six — Top Five Men

  1. Jeffrey Adler — 5:45.01
  2. Bayden Brown — 5:46:56
  3. Travis Mayer — 5:51.30
  4. Alex Vigneault — 5:52.50
  5. Saxon Panchik — 5:53.66

Individual Event Six — Top Five Women

  1. Tia-Clair Toomey-Orr — 5:43.17
  2. Kristi Eramo O’Connell — 5:45.88
  3. Kristin Holte — 6:07.08
  4. Gabriela Migała — 6:12.36
  5. Laura Horváth — 6:09.73

[Related: 2021 NOBULL CrossFit Games Results and Leaderboard]

Individual Event Six

Five rounds for time of:

  • 200-meter run
  • one clean (short bar)
    • Men: 245 | 265 | 285 | 305 | 315 pounds
    • Women: 165 | 175 | 185 | 195 | 205 pounds

Time cap: six minutes for the men, seven minutes for the woman. Each division had four heats.

Men’s Division

In heat one for the men, Alexandre Caron took the lead by the time round three rolled around. He made an attempt on the final clean but was unable to get it up. None of the men were able to finish within the time cap. Tim Paulson also made it to the final clean but did not lift it within the cap. They technically tied with a score of CAP + One.

The athletes in heat two had a slight advantage before their heat started — they had the knowledge that finishing within the time cap would likely post a decent overall finish. The first run of this heat was showed a clear understanding by the athletes that the runs should be closer to a sprint than a jog. Jeffrey Adler took the lead after the first round — four seconds ahead of the field.

Adler furthered his lead, showing ease with the cleans. Bayden Brown was in a relatively distant second. By round four, Brown was within a few body lengths from Adler. They both reached the final barbell at the 5:38 mark. Adler finished with a time of 5:45.01. Brown came in right after at 5:46:56. Hopper and Chandler Smith did not beat the cap and matched Paulson and Caron’s time.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Jeffrey Adler (@adlerjeff)


Halfway through heat three, Jason Smith and Guilherme Malheiros led the pack. By round three, Travis Mayer and Alex Vigneault joined them. At the start of round four, Mayer was in front. In the closing half-minute of the heat, Mayer cleaned the final barbell and crossed the finish line with a time of 5:51.30. Vigneault was also able to cross the finish line with a time of 5:52.50. The rest of the heat did not beat the time cap.

The final heat for the men was led by Lazar Đukić from the starting whistle, but most of the pack remained tight with Scott Panchik bringing up the rear due to an ongoing issue with his knee (meniscus issue suffered in Event One).

Scott Panchik’s younger brother, Saxon, was on the other end of the field. The younger Panchik led the heat going into the final round. He reentered the arena at 5:29 and it was clear Adler’s time would hold up for an event win. Saxon Panchik was the first man to finish this heat with a time of 5:53.66. Medeiros was also able to cross the finish line before the whistle blew.

Women’s Division

The opening heat for the women saw Jessica Griffith and Caroline Conners at the front of the pack. Griffith cleared the second clean first and claimed the lead solely for herself darting into the final lap. She never gave up the lead and crossed the finish line with a time of 6:25.72. Alessandra Pichelli crossed the finish line not much later with a time of 6:32.72. Regan Huckaby and Carolyne Prevost also finished within the time cap at 6:40.66 and 6:41.43, respectively.

Ellie Turner and Laura Clifton hopped into the front position at the start of heat two. By the end of the first round, Arielle Loewen took the lead.

Loewen was joined by Emma Cary at the front of the pack as round three began. Loewen held the lead moving into round four but Cary was overtaken by Turner. Loewen and Turner were synchronized dashing into the final lap with Cary in a distant third. Loewen smiled on her way to the final clean, missed her first attempt, and left the door open for Turner to score a heat-winning time of 6:21.99. Loewen crossed in 6:33.61.

Tia-Clair Toomey-Orr
Image courtesy of CrossFit

Dani Speegle was scheduled to be in heat three but did not take the floor. She suffered what appeared to be an ankle injury in Event Five.

Danielle Brandon took a slight lead earlier in heat three. Emma McQuaid and Thuridur Helgadottir stayed close on her heels. Annie Thorisdottir converted the second clean the fastest and darted into lap three.

As lap four came to a close, Gabriela Migała paced to the front of the field. She had a relatively comfortable distance from McQuaid and Thorisdottir. Migała reached the final barbell first, hit it on her first attempt, and crossed the finish line with an event-leading time of 6:12.36. McQuaid finished three seconds later with a time of 6:15.43. The two-time Fittest Woman on Earth® crossed the line at 6:25.74.

Brooke Wells finished the opening lap first in heat four. By the start of round two, Toomey-Orr was the leader of the group. Kristi Eramo O’Connell kept up with Toomey-Orr and Wells, and the trio hit the third round of cleans together. Adams struggled with the clean this round, causing her to fall to the back of the pack.

The final lap greeted Toomey-Orr and Eramo O’Connell in front with Wells a distant third. The returning champion crossed the finish line first with a time of 5:43.17. Eramo O’Connell crossed at 5:45.88.

The Games Continue

There are three more events taking place on July 30, 2021. In total, Individual athletes will compete in 15 events by the end of the Games. All times are in Eastern Standard Time (EST):

  • IE7 (Men): 3:52 p.m. – 4:28 p.m.
  • IE7 (Women): 4:32 p.m. – 5:08 p.m.
  • IE8 (Men): 5:30 p.m. – 5:58 p.m.
  • E8 (Women): 6:00 p.m. – 6:28 p.m.
  • IE9 (Men): 7:46 p.m. – 8:10 p.m.
  • IE9 (Women): 8:16 p.m. – 8:40 p.m.

Featured Image Courtesy of CrossFit.